AnimeFest 2013 Review + Super Crazy Adorable Giveaway

AnimeFest is a four day convention held over the Labor Day weekend at the Sheraton in Downtown Dallas. It’s a smaller convention typically bringing in an attendance per day anywhere from 7,000-10,000. While 10,000 is a large number, convention speaking it’s quite small considering some of the larger conventions top 50,000.

I think AnimeFest’s size is one of my favorite things about the convention. It’s easy to get overwhelmed at conventions to the point where walking around the floor is more like pushing your way through the doors of Best Buy’s Black Friday sale. Not so much at AnimeFest. There  was a lot of room to stop, talk with friends, and plenty of places to sit down and take a break (which is especially important when you are wearing heels that are totally killing your feet!).

This year the convention was very well organized. I heard from a few people that the lines to get badges were pretty long, but this seems to be a common complaint about conventions in general. Because of that being such a common issue, I don’t think I can really harp on AnimeFest too much for it.

Even the hotel staff seemed very accommodating. Heck, even the elevator rides seemed smoother! I’m sure the LSU folks were grateful for that.

I decided to put together a new cosplay for AnimeFest! I was Officer Jenny from the older Pokemon series (not the new Jenny). This was my first time wearing a wig for a costume and it was so much fun! I wish I could have emerald colored hair all the time. Thanks to Sundizzle Photography and to Samkyo for taking these awesome shots! Also shout-out to Teno Dulina for sprucing some of them up for me 😀

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I saw some pretty amazing cosplays this year! My favorite was the Shopping List Ghost from Spongebob. I know that this is probably one of the most unelaborate cosplays I could have picked but OH MY LANTA GUYS. This is from one of my most favorite episodes of Spongebob and I have NEVER seen it done before!

Shopping List Ghost from Spongebob

Shopping List Ghost from Spongebob

Shopping List Ghost from Spongebob

Shopping List Ghost from Spongebob

The Dealer’s Room is another one of my favorite parts of AnimeFest. It’s really spread out and there’s a lot of space between the aisles, making it easier to shop. Inside the Dealer’s Room there was more than just your typical dealer’s. This year there were also some artists integrated in and some games that were available to be played.

Above all I just love that AnimeFest gives me the opportunity to see a lot of my friends. I even got to make a cameo in a couple of their videos! So watch and look for me and my trusty hand cuffs!

All in all, if you’re looking for a fun, lighthearted convention, AnimeFest is definitely for you. In my opinion, it is the BEST convention for first timers. It’s not too overwhelming and there is a great sense of community.

To share a bit of the fun, I had to pick up these cuties to throw your way! To win one of these cute lil’ alpacas, use the buttons below to enter! Each thing you do gives you a point, which equals more entries! The more entries equals more chances to win! So get to it!

Win one of these cuties!

Win one of these cuties!

raffle

Click me to enter the giveaway!

Click the image above or right here to ENTER THE GIVEAWAY!!

What convention is up next? Fan Days October 4-6 at the Irving Convention Center in Dallas, TX! See you there!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

12 thoughts on “AnimeFest 2013 Review + Super Crazy Adorable Giveaway

  1. My favorite cosplay I’ve seen so far was Flynn Rider at the Texas Renaissance Festival in Houston! It’s my favorite because of the setting! It looked like he totally belonged there! So when I saw him walk by me I was like OMG MOM STOP HIM I NEED A PHOTO! He was in a hurry so we literally chased him lol … It was like meeting the real Flynn!!

  2. I think the best cosplay I have ever seen was at PAX Prime just a few weeks ago. A woman dressed as a Supreme Dalek, and she did it in a super imaginative way! There are pictures posted on my website, if you’re curious to see 😀

  3. Someone I’m writing will love these since she has a pets at home. I never told her this, but my families neighbors have alpaca’s in the barn that they have. I’ve seen them when I’ve walked by their fence.

Leave a Reply

