Dallas Comic Con Fan Days 2013 Review + Giveaway

 

Continuing their legacy of awesomeness, Dallas Comic Con once again put on a fantastic show this past weekend at the Irving Convention Center presenting Fan Days 2013.

Fan Days brings in such an eclectic collaboration of costumes. It’s incredible! From Attack on Titan to Disney Villains there was certainly representation of everyone’s favorite characters.

As I’ve said before, Sunday is my favorite day to attend conventions, and Fan Days is no exception. I went on Sunday in a make-shift Lara Croft costume mainly just to pow around and visit some of my favorite booths. But my experience quickly turned into so much more than a Sunday drive!

I made a quick round in the large vendors room and then headed to the third floor to check out the artist alley and start getting my eyes on all the celebrity guests. No more than a few steps into the lobby on the third floor did I spy Anthony Daniels (most famous for his role as C-3PO)! He was chilling in the middle of the lobby and happily taking pictures with the swarm of eager fans. Of course, I had to get in on this action. He was so friendly, very approachable, and was even giving high compliments to all of the cosplayers!

IMG_2723

Me and Anthony Daniels!

Speaking of celebrities one of the nicest guys I had the pleasure of meeting was Daniel Logan (voice of Boba Fett in Star Wars: The Clone Wars). I was walking by the row of media guests on the 4th floor and he started waving in my direction. I walked over, he complimented me on my outfit, and then said he’d be more than happy to do a shout out for my blog! I thanked him over and over and was about to walk away, but Lou Ferrigno stopped me and told me I should give Daniel a hug for being so awesome! Um, absolutely Lou!

IMG_2707

Me and Daniel Logan!

Of course I had to trot on over to the Big Fan Boy room to get my freebies, and man did I load up! Even though it was Sunday there were still a bunch of goodies up for grabs. Even better, I didn’t have to wait in a line! I’ll be giving some of these freebies away in the prize packs that you can enter to win, so check out the link at the end of the blog! Big Fan Boy is probably one of my favorite things about going to conventions, and about living in Dallas. They are always offering awesome opportunities for freebies, movie tickets and more! Make sure you see what they’re up to!

I’m going to go ahead and put it out there that I have some crazy talented friends. And I keep on making new ones! (I’m looking at you, Houston). From Tony Stark and Luna Lovegood, to the magical Zatanna, my friends have skills!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Speaking of talent, the artists at Fan Days this year were top shelf. One artist that caught my attention was Elizabeth Breitweiser. First of all, it’s a pretty rare sight to see a female comic artist, so of course I had to check out her work. Let me tell you, she is crazy talented. I fangirled over a collaborative piece she had from an issue of the Hulk and we talked about dinosaurs for a bit. If you’re not familiar with her work, I really encourage you to check it out. Be prepared to see some mad skills.

A collaborative piece Elizabeth Breitweiser did that I found on her DeviantArt account.

A collaborative piece Elizabeth Breitweiser did that I found on her DeviantArt account.

As some of you may already know, Jon Hughes is one of my all time favorite artists. Not only does his work line my college-apartment walls, but now his comic books are starting to fill my shelves. Now that Overground Comics has been officially launched, Jon’s work can not only be admired, but now it’s put into action through characters in his comics such as Plus Ultra. I am living for these comics right now and if you haven’t already clicked over to his page, get to it!

I’ve already come to terms that when I go to a convention I will leave broke. It’s just the natural course of conventions. But I’m totally okay with that because that means that I get to come home with awesome things. First on my “things necessary to my existence” list was to snag a couple prints from the ever-so-gorgeous guest cosplayers Nicole Marie Jean and Destiny Nickelson. They are crazy talented and more than that, a couple of the sweetest people you will ever meet. I really hope they make it back here for Sci-Fi Expo or Dallas Comic Con!

IMG_2682

And surprise! I will actually be giving away one of the prints I bought (I really must love you guys, huh?). That’s right; you can own this AMAZING print of Nicole Marie Jean sporting her Lady Bane. All you have to do to enter is use the link at the end of this blog!

IMG_2814

Since the convention was only giving out wristbands, I went ahead and caved and bought one of the badges to give away. I think it looks pretty neat and if you like to collect the badges as tokens from your convention trips like I do, this is definitely a must have. Each of these prizes will come with some goodies from the Big Fan Boy room and from other booths around the convention! The giveaway will end on October 20th at midnight, so make sure to enter!

IMG_2815

Needless to say I had a crazy good time at Fan Days and I cannot freaking wait for Sci-Fi Expo. Thanks to everyone who put this convention together! Be sure to check out an awesome gallery of the costumes of Fan Days 2013 from Samaze.com. Next convention on my list? Anime North Texas. 

Don’t forget to enter to win the giveaway here!

giveawayfandays

One thought on “Dallas Comic Con Fan Days 2013 Review + Giveaway

Leave a Reply

